Filipino Tag

pinoy tag

All over the Internet especially Youtube, there are these cultural tags: Jamaican Tags, Trinidadian Tags, Chinese Tags, etc. I found that there is a Filipino Tag so I thought that I should jump on the bandwagon without getting “tagged” by someone else. I don’t know if I’m cheating though. Doesn’t matter anyway, it’s technically old news and I am coming in late.

I’ve only seen/read a few videos/blogs with the Filipino Tags by various users of Filipino descent. Whether they were born in the Philippines or not and whether they still live in the country or not.

Tag Game

1. When was the last time you were in the Philippines.

I don’t go to the Philippines often as I should. As of this article, the last time I was there was January 2009.

2. Name 1 Filipino dish you enjoy the most? Why?

Lechon. Crispy, sweet skin on the outside, tender flesh on the inside.

3. Name 1 Filipino house hold item that best resembles our culture.

The large spoon and fork we hang on our walls. We Filipinos actually eat food with a fork and spoon. I had to learn how to eat with a fork and knife when I first came to Australia.

4. Do you know how to speak in Tagalog? If so say a phrase or two.

Oo, pero hindi sariling wika ko ang Tagalog. Kasi, nakatira ako sa mga bansa na magsalita ng Ingles. Bakit ba ang Tagalog? May tao na magsalita ng ibang wika at walang Tagalog. Gaya ng Ilokano o Chavacano.

5. Which part of the Philippines are you from?

I wasn’t born in the Philippines but my parents are from Tagalog-speaking areas mainly Manila and Batangas.

Questions (2ND EDTION):
1. Do you live in the Philippines?

No, I live in Melbourne, Australia.

2. What is a stereotype about Filipinos?

We are a happy go-lucky people and we sing a lot of karaoke (I don’t).

3. Do you own a karaoke machine?

Yes

4. SING your favorite Filipino song! (yes, sing)

I can’t sing Baleleng or any Filipino song on a blog.

5. Have you tried Balut?

Yes. At the end of the day, it tastes like boiled egg. Tip: Gobble the thing in two bites. If you like salt and vinegar chips then you’ll probably like balut with salt and vinegar.

6. Whats your Favorite thing about being Filipino?

Because our culture is a mix of West and East, we can adapt to almost any culture.

7. What’s your Least favorite thing about being Filipino?

Whitening cream. No amount can ever make you a better person.

8. Do you eat Goldilocks on a regular basis?

There are no Goldilocks in Australia.

9. Are you inseparable from your family?

Yes

That was my participation in the oh-so-old Filipino Tag. I guess I’m supposed to tag somebody, right? Well, if you do come across this article and you want to make your own response to this Filipino Tag, go right ahead. That is my way of tagging.

Leave a Reply

